Harry Potter books in order

The best Harry Potter books in order by J.K. Rowling | Readterest

There are few books in the world that have the power that Harry Potter Books in order 1 – 7 do. J.K.Rowling super popular “Harry Potter” fantasy series have sold more than 400 million copies worldwide and impact the popular culture in such massive ways. One thing that gets this series sails its boat over the world was probably the movie series, but what get us into the head of the characters and immense in the wizard world is definitely the Harry Potter books.

The summary of the Harry Potter books in order of word count is quite narrative actually. It is the story of the eponymous hero who was orphaned at birth and was left for the cruel Dursley family, who were referred to as Muggles or non-magical people (it is a rude word in the Harry Potter books in order of sequence world, mind you). On the day he turned seven, Harry receives a letter from the magical school Hogwarts that educate wizards and witches. And that was the beginning of his journey. At the school, he became acquainted with the two of whom later become his best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. It was then revealed that Harry is no ordinary wizard, his parents were killed by the Dark Lord Voldemort (which is also a word that should not be said out loud in that magical world). Voldermort did try to kill off Harry himself, but somehow the attack rebounded and severely crippled the powerful Voldemort, making Harry the star of the magical world: a child who did not only survive the infamous killer but also somehow injured him.


The first few Harry Potter books in order 1 – 4 emphasize on developing the characters and set the stage ready for when Lord Voldemort returns in the Book 4, with power and with a body, or several bodies, at that. With the aids of his followers who are called Death Eaters, Voldemort got on with the campaign to kill Harry Potter, who might be the only one that has a chance to stand against him. The last three volumes are all about how Harry became more and more desperate in the battle against Voldemort, which sucked the whole magical world into chaos.

The Harry Potter books in order of publication have indeed a typical adventure fantasy for a story arc, but what gripped the reader’s attention were such intricate web of plots and subplots, as well as ordinary instances of teenage problems in a magical world, which everyone can find themselves in.

Throughout the Harry Potter books in order of time, the recurring fundamental themes drive the story: the power of love, be it friendship, teachers and students, family, and love. Man’s struggle against death is another theme, and the most relevant relationship is the relationship between Potter and his mentor, Dumbledore.

It is irrelevant if we say: you should read this book, as everyone else already rushed to the bookstores and get their copy of the favorite Harry Potter books in order. What we want to say is that we can understand the powerful, exciting, moving and motivating elements of the stories that are ever so overwhelmed, so share anything you feel with us.

Harry Potter books in order:


  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Book 1)
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2)
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3)
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Book 4)
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Book 5)
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Book 6)
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7)
  8. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts I & II

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *